## **WORKFORCE INVESTMENT BOARD**



ACTION ITEM: 1.2 SUBMITTAL DATE: December 10, 2014

SUBJECT: Election of Workforce Investment Board (WIB) Chairman for 2015.

**RECOMMENDATION:** That the WIB elect a Chairman to preside over the committee for 2015.

**BACKGROUND:** Officer to preside over the Workforce Investment Board needs to be elected for the period commencing January 1, 2015, through December 31, 2015.

Functions and responsibilities of the Chairman include:

- Shall be the official representative and spokesperson for the WIB
- Shall preside at all WIB meetings and the WIB Executive Committee meetings
- > Shall coordinate with the WIB Director in preparing the agenda for WIB meetings
- Shall call regular and special meetings of the WIB Executive Committee
- Shall appoint the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the ad-hoc committees of the WIB
- Shall sign on behalf of the WIB all necessary documents
- Perform other responsibilities as determined by the WIB

As per the WIB Bylaws, the Chairman shall be elected by the WIB from the private sector membership. Private sector representation is as follows:

Angela Janus	Barbara Howison	Barry Keyes	Charles Martin
Darryl Rawlings	Deanna Margaritha	Debra Martin	Diane Strand
Francisca Hernandez	Guadalupe Del Gado	Guy Reams	Imran Angelov Farooq
Jamil Dada	Jim King	Juan DeLara	Julie Adams
Kenneth Clark	Layne Arthur	Lea Petersen	Louis Davis
Louise Oppenheim	Morris Myers	Paul Marchand	Peter Hubbard
Rick Glasmann	Scott Mann	Sonia Nunez	Steve Popkin
Tina Sewell			

Nominations for Chairman will be submitted at the time of meeting. The candidates provide a 2-minute speech to gain the majority vote; the confirmation of a majority vote is accomplished by the raising of voting cards.

WORKFORCE INVESTMENT BOARD	BOARD OF SUPERVISORSCONCURRENCE	
Date: 12/10/14		
Approval: Yes	REQUIRED: No	